Women's Volleyball - Mon, Nov. 12, 2012

The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has officially released the pairings for the 33rd annual NAIA Women's Volleyball National Championship.  The Golden State Athletic Conference (GSAC) leads all conferences with five teams in the field.

Representing the GSAC are Biola, Concordia, The Master's, Vanguard and Westmont. The Great Plains Athletic Conference follows with three, while the American Midwest Conference, Association of Independent Institutions, Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference, Mid-South Conference, Midwest Collegiate Conference, Red River Athletic Conference, Southern States Athletic Conference and Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference have two teams apiece in the field.

The top-11 seeds, in addition to host school Morningside (Iowa), will receive a bye, while the other 24 qualifying teams will play in the Opening Round matches on Nov. 17. All matches will be played at campus sites.

Biola, Concordia, The Master's and Westmont all received byes.  Vanguard will host Cal State San Marcos in Opening Round play this Saturday, November 17. 

The winners of the National Championship Opening Round matches will advance to the Tyson Events Center/Gateway Arena in Sioux City, Iowa, location of the NAIA National Championship Final Site presented by CNOS. Those 12 winners will meet up with Morningside (Iowa) and the 11 top seeds in the National Championship from Nov. 27 - Dec.1.

The final 24 teams will be placed into six pools and will compete in round-robin pool play Nov. 27 - 29, with the top-two teams from each pool advancing to the single-elimination bracket starting Nov. 30. The championship match will take place on Dec. 1 at 8 p.m. CST in Sioux City.

The final site pool will be determined on Sunday, Nov. 18 and released by 5 p.m. CST

NeuLion, the NAIA's official video-streaming company of 12 select NAIA national championship events, will be broadcasting all single elimination matches of the 2012 Volleyball National Championship. The single-elimination matches starting at 10 a.m. CT on Nov. 30 will be streamed and coverage will continue through the championship match at 8 p.m. CST on Dec. 1. Single day packages can be purchased for $9.95, while an all-tournament pass is available for $29.95. For more information and to pre-register, click here.

For more information on the National Championship, click here.