News Photo
Basketball - Mon, Mar. 31, 2014

COSTA MESA, Calif. – Vanguard University will hold the 2014 NAIA Basketball National Championship Rally on Wednesday, April 2 at 10:00am in The Pit. The rally will celebrate Vanguard's first-ever NAIA men's basketball crown, the women's basketball team who advanced to the NAIA second round, six NAIA Scholar-Athletes, five NAIA All-Americans, the NAIA Women's Player of the Year and the NAIA Men's Coach of the Year.

The men's hoops victory in the final contest of the 2014 Buffalo Funds-NAIA National Championship game over No. 8-seeded Emmanuel (Ga.) earned Vanguard the title on Tuesday, March 25. In the program's 64-year history, the 2013-14 Lions are the first squad to earn a Golden State Athletic Conference (GSAC) regular season and tournament crown in the same year. In addition, the Lions are now the all-time Vanguard record holder for the most wins in a single season (32-6).

Days after the NAIA second round game for the women's basketball team (27-2), Taylor Belmont and Nicole Ballestero were selected as NAIA First Team All-Americans, while Leigha Bednar, Jordie Smith and Taylor Belmont took home NAIA Scholar-Athlete honors. From the men's team, the NAIA Tournament's Most Valuable Player, Preston Wynne, and Chris Gorman garnered NAIA First and Second Team All-America recognition, respectively. Swing Chuang, Kirk Sheplay and Preston Wynne were also named as NAIA Scholar-Athletes for the Lions.

The men's and women's teams will be celebrated on their home court, surrounded by athletic staff, basketball alumni and parents, university student body and the Orange County community and media. KOCE co-anchor, Ed Arnold, will emcee the commemorative rally, as Vanguard University president, Dr. Mike Beals, and women's basketball coach, Russ Davis, and men's coach, the 2014 NAIA Coach of the Year, Rhett Soliday, will also take the stage.

Can't make it to the rally? Watch a live stream of the event on: